Practice areas

Select experience

Professional activities and initiatives

Education

Publications

Practice areas

  • Appellate litigation
  • Civil and commercial litigation
  • Arbitration and alternative dispute resolution
  • Public and constitutional law
  • Corporate legal risk for foreign supply chains and other activities tainted by human rights violations
  • Liability of foreign states for commercial debts and human rights violations

Select experience

Azim has notably:

ADVISED a Canadian mining company in its worldwide enforcement campaign of a $713 million USD arbitral award issued by a Paris-seated tribunal under the ICSID Additional Facility Rules against a Latin American state;

ACTED for plaintiffs in a multi-million dollar claim against their former lawyer and his firm for negligent advice and conflict of interest in recommending unauthorized financial advisors and risky offshore hedge funds, and receiving undisclosed commissions, resulting in victory at the Quebec Court of Appeal and the Supreme Court of Canada in the matter of Salomon v. Matte-Thompson, 2019 SCC 14;

ACTED for a Montreal-based graphic card manufacturer in a tripartite dispute involving more than $50 million USD at the Quebec Superior Court with a France-based subsidiary of a multinational computer manufacturer and a Texas-based subsidiary of a multinational graphic card component manufacturer. Pre-trial proceedings included debates on the jurisdiction of the Quebec courts, application of Texas law, the right to conduct examinations on discovery of certain witnesses in France, and issues of privity and standing given the involvement of affiliates and sub-contractors in the transnational production process of one of the hardware components at issue;

ACTED for the U.S. affiliate of a multinational pharmaceutical company in a multiparty dispute at the Quebec Superior Court involving a rogatory commission out of Delaware Superior Court seeking the testimony of a scientist in Quebec;

ACTED for a Canadian engineering company in injunction proceedings at the Quebec Superior Court to contest calls on letters of guarantee and counter-guarantee made by counterparties in Algeria and Poland;

ACTED for the Canadian affiliate of a multinational engineering company in an arbitration with a North American state entity and a West African state in an UNCITRAL arbitration with seat in London, U.K.;

ACTED for a U.K. NGO against torture as an intervener in the Supreme Court case of Kazemi v. Islamic Republic of Iran, 2014 SCC 62;

ACTED for the defendant in one of the most important constitutional cases in family law in Quebec, where the constitutionality of certain provisions of the Civil Code of Québec that exclude common-law couples was challenged. The Supreme Court of Canada found in favour of the defendant: Quebec (Attorney General) v. A, 2013 SCC 5;

ACTED for a Cypriot creditor of an arbitral award issued by the Arbitration Institution of the Stockholm Chamber of Commerce for more than $36 million USD against an Eastern European state organ, and seized a cargo plane in execution of the award under proceedings at the Federal Courts and the Supreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador, with leave to appeal granted by the Supreme Court of Canada (the dispute settled subsequently).

Professional activities and initiatives

“Cross-Border Litigation: Comity and Culture Clash”—panelist; “International Commercial Arbitration: Hot Topics”—co-chair, Conference of New York State Bar Association-International Section, Montreal, October 2018

Advisory Board, McGill Law Journal

Committee member, Citizenship and Charters Program of the Canadian Bar Association—Quebec, program for education on constitutional law in high schools

Education

B.C.L/LL.B., Faculty of Law, McGill University (Great Distinction, Dean’s Honour List)- 2000

M.Sc., Sociology, London School of Economics and Political Science (Distinction)- 1996

B.A., Sociology, McGill University (First Class Honours, Dean’s Honour List)-1995

Publications

  • Sovereign Immunity 2020–Canada, (co-authored ), published in S. Jagusch & O.G. Repousis (eds.), Sovereign Immunity–Lexology/Getting the Deal Through
  • Obtaining evidence for Canadian proceedings when faced with a blocking statute(co-authored), Commercial Litigation and Arbitration Review (2016), vol. 5, no. 4, pages 55-58
  • Requests for Assistance from Foreign Courts: The Limits of International Co-operation (co-authored ), Commercial Litigation and Arbitration Review (2015), vol. 4, no. 1, pages 7-11

Champs de pratique

Mandats représentatifs

Activités professionnelles & implications

Formation

Publications

Champs de pratique

  • Litige d’appel
  • Litige civil et commercial
  • Arbitrage et modes alternatifs de résolution des différends
  • Droit public et constitutionnel
  • Risque juridique des entreprises pour les chaînes d’approvisionnement étrangères et autres activités entachées de violations des droits de la personne
  • Responsabilité des États étrangers pour les dettes commerciales et les violations des droits de la personne

Mandats représentatifs

Azim a notamment :

CONSEILLÉ une société minière canadienne dans le cadre de sa campagne d’exécution multijuridictionnelle d’une sentence arbitrale de plus de 713 millions de dollars américains émise par un tribunal siégeant à Paris aux termes du Règlement du mécanisme supplémentaire du CIRDI et du traité bilatéral d’investissement d’un État d’Amérique latine ;

AGI pour les demanderesses dans une réclamation de plusieurs millions de dollars contre leur ancien avocat et son cabinet en raison de conseils fautifs et de conflits d’intérêts. L’avocat a recommandé des conseillers financiers non autorisés et des fonds de couverture étrangers à risque et a reçu des commissions non déclarées de la part de l’un des conseillers, ce qui a abouti à une victoire devant la Cour d’appel du Québec et la Cour suprême du Canada dans l’affaire Salomon c. Matte-Thompson, 2019 CSC 14 ;

AGI pour un fabricant québécois de cartes graphiques dans le cadre d’un différend tripartite impliquant plus de 50 millions de dollars américains à la Cour supérieure du Québec, avec une filiale française d’un fabricant international d’ordinateurs et une filiale texane d’un fabricant international de composant de cartes graphiques. Les procédures préliminaires comprenaient des débats sur la compétence des tribunaux du Québec, le droit d’interroger au préalable certains témoins en France et des questions de liens contractuels et de l’intérêt pour agir compte tenu de la participation de sociétés affiliées et de sous-traitants au processus de production transnational d’un des composants matériels en jeu;

AGI pour la filiale américaine d’une société pharmaceutique internationale dans un litige multipartite à la Cour supérieure du Québec impliquant une commission rogatoire de la Cour supérieure du Delaware visant à obtenir le témoignage d’un scientifique au Québec ;

AGI pour une société d’ingénierie canadienne dans le cadre d’une procédure d’injonction devant la Cour supérieure du Québec pour contester les appels de lettres de garantie et de contre-garantie faits par des contreparties en Algérie et en Pologne ;

AGI pour la filiale canadienne d’une société internationale d’ingénierie dans un arbitrage contre une entité d’État américaine et un État d’Afrique de l’Ouest dans un arbitrage CNUDCI avec siège à Londres, au Royaume-Uni ;

AGI pour une ONG britannique contre la torture en tant qu’intervenant dans l’affaire Kazemi c. République islamique d’Iran devant la Cour suprême, 2014 CSC 62 ;

AGI pour le défendeur dans l’une des plus importantes affaires constitutionnelles en droit de la famille au Québec, où la constitutionnalité de certaines dispositions du Code civil du Québec qui excluent les conjoints de fait a été contestée. La Cour suprême du Canada a donné raison au défendeur : Québec (Procureur général) c. A, 2013 CSC 5 ;

AGI pour un créancier chypriote devant les Cours fédérales et la Cour suprême de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, relativement à la saisie d’un aéronef dans le cadre de la partie canadienne d’un litige multi-juridictionnel visant à exécuter une sentence arbitrale de l’Institut d’arbitrage de la Chambre de commerce de Stockholm à l’égard d’un organe d’un état de l’Europe de l’est.(Autorisation d’interjeter l’appel devant la Cour suprême du Canada accordée, affaire ultérieurement réglée hors cour).

Activités professionnelles & implications

« Cross-Border Litigation: Comity and Culture Clash »-panéliste; « International Commercial Arbitration: Hot Topics »- coprésident, Conférence de l’Association du Barreau de l’État de New York – Section internationale, Montréal, octobre 2018

Conseil consultatif, Revue de droit de McGill

Membre du comité, Citoyenneté et Chartes de l’Association du Barreau canadien-Québec, programme d’éducation sur le droit constitutionnel dans les écoles secondaires

Formation

B.C.L/LL.B., Université McGill, avec haute distinction, palmarès du doyen- 2000

M.Sc., Sociologie, London School of Economics and Political Science, avec distinction- 1996

B.A., Sociologie, Université McGill, avec mention, palmarès du doyen-1995

Publications

  • Sovereign Immunity 2020–Canada; (coauteur), publié dans S. Jagusch & O.G. Repousis (eds.), Sovereign Immunity-Lexology/Getting the Deal Through
  • Obtaining evidence for Canadian proceedings when faced with a blocking statute (coauteur), Commercial Litigation and Arbitration Review (2016), vol. 5, no. 4, pages 55-58
  • Requests for Assistance from Foreign Courts: The Limits of International Co-operation (coauteur), Commercial Litigation and Arbitration Review (2015), vol. 4, no. 1, pages 7 à 11